Health's Angel

Vitamin A, The Delicious Way (Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies)

on September 19, 2012

Considering all of the pumpkin I’ve been consuming over the past few weeks, I’m shocked that my skin isn’t starting to turn orange.

pumpkincookies

It’s time to put that old, plain chocolate chip cookie recipe aside and make some cake-like pumpkin ones instead. I can’t think of a tastier way to get my vitamin A.

I can’t take full credit for this recipe. It was passed down to me by one of my old roommates. I remember her making these during the fall of our senior year of college. I instantly fell in love and proclaimed them to be one of the best cookies I’ve ever had. But…I think I’ve said that about numerous cookies I’ve eaten in the past. What can I say, I love my cookies.

I wasn’t crazy about some of the ingredients of the original recipe, so I did a bit of tweaking. For one, I cut the sugar content in half.

toomuchsugarbetter

Maybe two years ago I didn’t care, but now, it makes me cringe when I dump an entire cup of white sugar into a mixing bowl. Not to say that I don’t do that every once and awhile, but I wanted to see if I could make these just a teeny bit healthier, without compromising the taste.

And they still turned out perfect.

***

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

(Original recipe courtesy of my old roommate; I noted my changes in parentheses.)

1 1/2 cups canned pumpkin puree

1 cup white sugar (I reduced to 1/2 cup)

1/2 cup vegetable oil (I used canola oil)

1 egg

2 cups flour (I used 1 cup whole wheat pastry, 1 cup white)

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon milk (I used almond milk)

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

2 cups chocolate chips (I used Nestle’s dark chocolate chips)

1/2 cup chopped walnuts (I omitted- didn’t have them)

Combine pumpkin, sugar, oil, egg, and vanilla. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Dissolve baking soda in milk and stir in.

Add flour mixture to pumpkin mixture. Mix well. Add chocolate chips and nuts.

Drop by spoonful onto cookie sheet. Bake @ 350 degrees for approximately 10 minutes, or until lightly brown and firm. Let cool for as long as you can manage, and then dig in!

***

cookies2

I tried to edit that picture so that it wasn’t so obvious that it was blurry… eh.

Anyway, the big dark chocolate chips gave these cookies so much flavor and sweetness that no one missed the extra sugar. Next time, I’d probably reduce the white sugar amount even further. I’d also try to use more whole wheat pastry flour in place of the white flour; I love that stuff.

I’m sure this won’t be the only time I make these this fall, so I’ll have plenty more chances to experiment.

What’s on your cooking/baking list right now? Do you have any must-try fall recipes? Feel free to link up!

10 responses to “Vitamin A, The Delicious Way (Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies)

  1. I love the orange color of these! Pumpkin and chocolate are great together.

    I’ve been wanting to play around with healthy cinnamon rolls.

  2. Alisha says:

    Great recipe! I’ve been wanting to make Iowa Girl Eat’s recipe for her starbuck’s pumpkin scones! Yumm! http://iowagirleats.com/2012/09/18/starbucks-clone-pumpkin-scones/

  3. I immediately knew that I would love your blog when you said vitamin A through pumpkin cookies. I am glad I found you and these look like the bomb.

  4. Pumpkin and chocolate?! Yes. please! :)

  5. These sound great! I bought a can of pumpkin and haven’t quite figured out what to do with it! I think I just figured it out!

  6. Where is your pin it button?!? this looks AMAZEBALLS seriously I want to eat it right now lol

    • Ah, I tried adding one but I am HTML illiterate and could not figure it out! I need to get on that. Anyway, I have them pinned on my own Pinterest if you’d like to check that out. You can click the button on the right hand side under my bio. Thanks for the comment and let me know if you try them! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

