Health's Angel

Back on the Train

on October 4, 2012

Hey, all!

YIKES. I have been neglecting this thing lately. Poor little blog; I’m so sorry. Consider this my “hopping back on the blogging train” catch-up post.

sweetpots

My orange foods obsession continues. Sweet potato wedges tossed in olive oil, cinnamon, and a bit of chili powder. Super easy side dish. I didn’t go near sweet potatoes all summer, but now I’m loving them all over again.

shadystreet

I’m still trying to get some outdoor exercising in before our weather takes a turn for the worst. I’ve mentioned this before, but I am total wimp when it comes to cold weather. Once it settles in for good, I’ll be seeing a lot less of the sidewalks and a lot more of the treadmill at my gym. It’s supposed to hit 74 today and that makes me ecstatic.

fallattire

I have to admit that while I am not a fan of fall/winter weather, I do love fall fashion and how cozy it can be. I’ve been wearing some variation of this outfit for the past few weeks: jacket or zip-up hoodie with this scarf. Infinity scarves rock my world. The jacket is lululemon and it is perfect for this time of year. Full disclosure: I barely own any lululemon because it is so flippin’ expensive, but I had an interview for a job with the company and I wanted to look the part. I didn’t end up getting the job (insert rant about how it is near impossible to get hired for anything here), but I know I’ll be getting a lot of use out of the jacket.

brownies

My youngest brother is a freshman in college and has spent the last month and a half adjusting to dorm life and all that comes with it. Lucky for him, my apartment is right down the road, making it easy for me to drive down and pick him up whenever he needs a break from campus. We had a little brother-sister date last week. I picked him up and we went shopping at Whole Foods. He was thrilled to be able to stock up on bottled teas, fresh produce, and random snacks that you would definitely not see on campus. He also got dinner from the hot bar and came back to my apartment to feast on “real” food. I love any excuse to bake, so I made a pan of Smitten Kitchen’s cheesecake swirled brownies in his honor. And I definitely sent him back to campus with half the pan.

chaitea Tea > Coffee. I love coffee-flavored things, but I can’t stand drinking it. If I visit a coffee shop, which isn’t a regular thing for me, my favorite thing to order is a soy chai tea latte. In fact, they’ve become somewhat of an obsession over the past month. In an effort to support coffee shops that aren’t Starbucks, I’ve been trying soy chai lattes from random spots I come across if I’m out and about and hit with a craving. My conclusion thus far is that I don’t think I’ll ever find a chai latte that beats the one from Nordstrom’s E-Bar. Has anyone else ever had one from there? If not, get yourself to Nordstrom and try one immediately. OMG. Blows Starbucks out of the water- and cheaper, too.

The tea pictured above was only sub-par. I bought it while on the way back from an hour-long walk. During this walk, what I assumed was a bug flew into the corner of my eye (lovely) and I could not get it out for the life of me. I ducked into the place to use their restroom mirror. When I got there, the restroom door was locked. I assumed that they probably kept the key up front in order to prevent random people off the street (like me) from coming in to use the bathroom and then leaving. So, I walked up to the register and ordered a chai. I then asked the barista for the restroom key, and she proceeded to tell me that they don’t have a key and if the door is locked, then it just means that it is occupied.

Duh.

And the tea wasn’t even that great. Oh well. At least I gave them business.

sesemequinoa

I spent part of my weekend and the last couple of days at my parents’ house with my mom while my dad was out of town for work. I hadn’t slept in my childhood bed in months, and it was a nice little getaway. With my dad and brothers out of the house, my mom and I took full advantage of not having to cook meals suitable for carnivorous males and took to some of our favorite food blogs for “girlier” recipes to try. Pictured above is Jessica’s Toasted Sesame Quinoa with Chicken. It tastes like healthier Chinese, and we both loved it. We also made Gina’s Crockpot Minestrone Soup which was equally delicious and yielded plenty of leftovers. I love a good veggie-packed soup.

I also kept whining about how much I wanted a Pumpkin Pie Blizzard from Dairy Queen, and you better believe that happened on Sunday night. Ummm… they are so good. I am not much of an ice cream person (hello lactose intolerance) but I was loving it. Completely worth the stomachache.

doggiesun

Wherever there is sun, you better believe my dog will find it. I like to think he takes after me because of this.

 

Coffee or tea?

Any fun plans for the weekend?

 

20 responses to “Back on the Train

  1. sweet potato wedges are the best! and coffee vs tea depends on my mood! If I need something calming, I get tea. If I need energy, I get coffee!

  2. FitnJess says:

    cheesecake swirl brownies?!?! Those look amazing!!!!! I love your scarf as well, soo cute!

  3. oh my word those cheesecake brownies look amazeballs. and i love that scarf!

  4. Wow to those cheesecake brownies. Holy moly, can I come visit and eat them all LOL? Your outfit is super cute! Jealous!

  5. I love how your little brother wanted bottled teas and fresh produce. They grow up so quickly ;)

    I’m glad to hear that you have been doing well, even if the job search is stalling. It’ll happen!

    • Thanks, Alex!

      Yes, my youngest brother is actually a really healthy eater for being an 18 year old growing male, haha. He loves his fruits and veggies! But I have another brother who doesn’t let produce touch his lips… maybe one day!

  6. Oh, you’re killing me with these recipes … the brownies and the soup!

    And I hear you on the job hunt. :(

  7. Happy weekend!

    Love your lululemon jacket, so cute!

    This weekend I have a wedding to attend, pretty excited!

    Coffee I love in the morning, but tea I drink in the afternoon!

  8. those sweet potatoes look amazing! i’m totally a tea person:)

  9. mmmm sweet potato wedgesssss….

  10. Kailey says:

    oh man those cheesecake swirl brownies look SO good :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

