Health's Angel

I’m A Big Girl Now

on October 12, 2012

Hello again!

I know I’ve griped about being unemployed and frustrated on here a couple of times before, but I am excited to say that this is no longer the case!

I was offered a position with a large corporation here in Pittsburgh, and I decided to accept.

Insert huge sigh of relief here.

The only caveat is that the position is not permanent. I am essentially working for the company as a contractor for as long as they need me. The department I am working in is in the midst of a gigantic project and needed the extra help. Also, the job itself is not exactly what I pictured myself doing with my degree. But you know what? At this point, I feel fortunate to have a job, period. It’s taken me a long time to accept this, and I still have my moments, but I’m doing my best to put things into perspective. I know that I am still young and have time to get where I want to be career-wise. I know that my first job won’t be my last. I know in this day and age, it’s not unusual to hear 23-year olds still trying to figure out what they want to do when they “grow up.”

226094843763604377_rBaJ76zR_c(via)

I have a variety of interests, and I want to use this time to test the waters and see what kind of work environment/type of work fits me best. All in all, I’m happy to have an income again and somewhere that I have to be in the morning. Unemployment was far from “funemployment” in my opinion. And while it’s true that I was unemployed kind of by choice, (I chose to leave my old job, but they would have needed to let me go eventually) I knew it was the right move for me. I started to feel trapped and stuck, and those are things that I don’t want to feel at 23. So I got out before those feelings consumed me entirely.

Change can be scary, and I’ve never dealt with it well. I’m wrapping up my first week at my new job today. As I’m writing this post on Thursday night, I feel relaxed. For the first time since…Saturday? It’s been a hectic, overwhelming, stressful week. But it’s been getting better each day.

edmameSnacks help. So does tea.

And I hope that explains my absence from the blog world…again. I feel like all of my posts have been filled with some kind of excuse lately. I apologize!

I am trying to acclimate myself to a new routine. I now have a 40-minute commute, instead of a 10-minute one. I’ve only worked out once this week, and that was on Monday. I didn’t even make it to the gym. I opted to do a yoga workout in my living room and it felt great. I was so antsy after sitting in my cube all day (I can’t believe I am a cube-dweller now…ha!) and I needed to MOVE. I must make some kind of schedule eventually to get my workouts in, but with the whirlwind of a week I’ve had, I haven’t given it much thought yet.

I didn’t mean for this post to turn into a diary entry, but that’s my quick update about my life as of now. I have a list of post ideas that I’m going to try really hard to get to soon.

Also, I don’t plan on disclosing where I am working for confidentiality/safety reasons and I can’t talk about the project I’m working on, just as an FYI. I wasn’t even given an explanation of the project before I started because it’s sensitive information. But I can say that it’s fairly similar to your average full-time, entry-level job. Complete with cube neighbors who swap stories about their cats.

Did you struggle to find your “path” after you graduated from school?

Anyone else living the cube life?

12 responses to “I’m A Big Girl Now

  1. Erin says:

    Angie, I’m so excited for you!! Even though its just a temp job, its still an awesome resume and confidence booster! I’m so happy to see you’re happy!

    I too, lead a cube life so I know that its tough getting used to sitting for so long! Especially when I first started… like, I never got to the gym because I would get home from work and be tired, which makes absolutely no sense since the most physical exertion I get during the day is from typing (on another note, I’ve noticed some increased muscle definition in my fingers! yayy). Anyway, once you get into the routine, its gets easier to get to the gym and of course, once you do this, you start feeling less tired and less antsy at work. And like we discussed, drink plenty of water and tea so that you have plenty of excuse to get up and go to the bathroom a ton!!

    Love ya and miss you!!
    -Erim

  2. Hooray! Congratulations! I knew something would turn up for you.

    Even if it’s only temporary, you never know what doors it could open. It could become permanent or they could move you to something really awesome. My first job was awful – but I was promoted to something wonderful after 2 years.
    :D

    • Thanks, Alex! I’ve heard from a lot of people that their first jobs weren’t exactly “ideal” but that doesn’t mean that it can’t lead to something else eventually. Hope to see you soon if we ever get another meet-up organized!

  3. Hi, just came across ur blog from Hollies, read some of your past blog entries and liking the look of those cookies yummy…Good luck with your job hope it leads to something more perm, I can’t really relate there as I have a long way till go till I finish studies like 6 yrs yikes… but hopefully when I am done I am doing what I enjoy so it’s not like work at all! Auds :-)

  4. Congrats on the job! I totally know what you mean about not being sure what you want from life…it will all fall into place one day :)

  5. Alisha says:

    Congratulations! As a fellow unemployed individual….I know how exciting this must be for you. So congrats x 1000! You will get settled into a routine sooner than you think. Thanks for being so honest on your blog. It gives hope to others who are job searching :)

  6. Kailey says:

    CONGRATS ON THE JOB :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

