Health's Angel

My Essential Oils

on October 22, 2012

I don’t know about the rest of you, but when the weather gets colder, I get drier.

I’m talking about things like my lips, my skin, and my hair. I’ve found that incorporating certain oils into my beauty routine and my diet really make a difference. Here are some of my staples:

First up, good old olive oil.

oliveoil2

Olive oil makes a regular appearance during my meal preparations. I love using it to coat vegetables before roasting them in the oven or to coat a hot skillet. It’s even a great substitute for bottled salad dressings when paired with balsamic vinegar (or just on its own). Monounsaturated fat is where it’s at. Olive oil is caloric though, so I try and measure out about 1/2 to 1 tablespoon when I use it. I’ve found that when I include more healthy oil into my diet, my skin and hair feel healthier. It all starts on the inside!

Sometimes though, you need a little extra moisture. Which brings me to a new-to-me product that I’ve been using for about a month now: jojoba oil.

I’ve heard a lot of people rave about jojoba oil and how good it is for skin. Apparently it’s supposed to be a close match to the sebum that your skin produces naturally. However, I was immediately skeptical about putting oil on my face. I am extremely anal about my skin; I’ve struggled with a myriad of skin issues for a good ten years of my life and so I try and take really great care of it. I’m very particular about the products I put on my face. Whenever the weather changes, my face starts to dry out like no other and my regular moisturizer just doesn’t cut it. So, I bought some jojoba oil from Whole Foods and figured I’d give it a whirl. It wasn’t cheap, but in my opinion, you pay for quality. And I’m not about to scrimp when it comes to skincare. I got the organic kind because I wanted to make sure I wasn’t rubbing some non-certified stuff all over my face that originated from who knows where. The brand is Aura Cacia.

jojoba (2)

I use it every day by mixing a drop or two with my regular moisturizer. You don’t want to use too much or else your face will end up looking like an oil slick. A little goes a long way, making the cost worth it. Again, I was wary about using oil on my face so I figured mixing with moisturizer was a good way to go about it. I’m a fan! My skin is a lot less dry and my makeup goes on smoother when I use this beforehand. It’s hard to tell whether it’s making me break out, because I break out regularly anyway, but I haven’t noticed anything extremely worse which is good. I’ve heard that it can be used as a makeup remover also, but I haven’t tried that. Definitely a keeper product.

I have to credit my mom for getting me into this next product. Her hairdresser recommended argan oil for her hair and sent her home with a couple small bottles. My mom generously gave me a little bottle try.

argan

On the back, it reads that this oil treatment “creates incredible shine and condition,” “protects hair from heat damage,” and promises a “faster drying time.” Sold! I have naturally wavy-curly hair that tends to frizz, but I also like to straighten my hair with a flatiron. My hair is incredibly thick, so the faster drying time claim caught my eye in particular.

I use this when I plan on blow-drying and straightening my hair. I take a small drop (maybe the size of a dime), work it through my damp hair, and style accordingly. It leaves my hair feeling so soft. I remember a couple weeks after I starting using it, one of my co-workers commented on how shiny my hair looked. Occasionally I’ll use it when I air-dry my hair curly, but I think I reap its benefits most when I’m doing a blowout.

So, there you have it. Not all oils are bad for you! An oil that I’ve been dying to try is coconut oil. I love anything with a coconut flavor or scent, so I’m not sure why I haven’t purchased it yet. Gotta get on that one.

Do you use any of these oils?

What are your favorite oils? Or what do you do to combat weather-induced dryness?

10 responses to “My Essential Oils

  1. Olive oil and coconut oil are my favorites! Yum!

  2. I do too. Oh my gosh my face is always peeling for real in the winter. I’m with Nikki though, I think coconut oil is a god send!

  3. My hair has been a dessert of brittle dying tresses. I used olive oil to revive it. I don’t really use jojoba even though I know the benefits of it. I’m more of a coconut kind of girl. Glad you are sharing the benefits of oils everyone should know. :-)

  4. I’ve actually never used oils (outside of cooking). This is really interesting, though! Now is a good time to try, unfortunately :-/

  5. I actually won a facial two weeks ago and the Beautician used apricot oil on my face. I was a bit skeptical as I have oily acne prone skin. But it made my skin way softer and it didn’t break out!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

