Health's Angel

Cube Life = Healthy Life?

on November 1, 2012

Ugh, do I feel cooped up this week. Especially at work.

walkoutside

Before the craptastic weather reared its ugly head around here, I made sure to get outside and take walks during my lunch breaks. Granted, I was walking the parameters of the parking lot half the time…but it still worked. My work is out in the suburbs so it was nice to be able to walk around and not have to dodge people on sidewalks or be on the look out for buses zooming down the streets. Apparently there’s a walking trail somewhere behind the building, but I haven’t had the chance to check it out. Knowing me, I’d get lost and they’d have to send out a search party. And to quote Sweet Brown: “Ain’t nobody got time for that” (…YouTube is ridiculous.)

I chose to eat lunch alfresco a couple of times, when we were graced with temperatures in the mid-70s.

indiansummer

(Happy to be away from my cube for a bit.)

I think this was my first awkward “snap a self-picture for the blog in public” moment. Yay! No one else was really around, though. My work just so happens to have a basketball court, tennis court, and sand volleyball court (yes…really) and a pavilion with some nice picnic tables outside. I wandered up there a couple of times by my lonesome to eat lunch, attempt to get some sun, and just chill out for a bit. I eat my lunch later than most so I had the place to myself. I’m a pretty introverted person and I enjoy my alone time, so I really liked the peace and quiet.

Here’s a look at what I’ve been eating for work lunches:

E4307AE6-F05D-4E5E-AB00-DD3C82D6C265

Non-dairy yogurt (I can’t remember the brand), thawed-out frozen blueberries, pumpkin seeds, chia seeds, and a little granola on top.

CFE4202C-2C86-486A-B667-814B5E53ED00

The remainders of Jessica’s Toasted Sesame Quinoa with Chicken , mixed in with some roasted red peppers, broccoli, and sweet potato bits.

I normally have a Larabar along with lunch as well. I am addicted to Larabars, for real.

Basically, I live my life out of Tupperware now.

I prefer to bring my own lunches, snacks, and tea to work because I’m fairly picky about what I eat/it saves money. Though I have to say, my work’s cafeteria is pretty impressive. They serve both breakfast and lunch and they have anything you could possibly want- including plenty of healthy options. I’ve eaten there once. I got a sushi sampler meal and it was pretty good. I planned on getting teriyaki salmon that day because I saw it on the menu days beforehand, but they were out of it by the time I got down there. I’m really curious to see how their salmon is, so hopefully I get to try that soon.

I’m still adjusting to the whole “sitting and staring a computer screen for eight hours a day” thing. I try not to stay sitting for more than an hour and a half if I can avoid it. I’ll take a bathroom break, go fill up my water bottle, or wash out my Tupperware from lunch. I also make a cognizant effort to use the stairs. My department is on the fifth floor of the building, so it’s a nice little climb. I still get pretty antsy during the day, but I’m hoping that subsides as I continue to adjust.

Does your workplace/school encourage a healthy lifestyle?

Do you prefer to buy food or bring your own?

19 responses to “Cube Life = Healthy Life?

  1. Nadiya says:

    During second year of university I worked at an office and that’s when I knew that I couldn’t stand it. I have worked a couple of 8 hour shifts (I was only supposed to work 10hrs/week) and they were brutal. My butt hurt, I lacked energy by the end and I felt like I accomplished nothing that day. Then again, other people might like office jobs..

  2. For health-based organization, our lunch choices are pretty sad! I almost always try to bring leftovers from the past night’s dinner for lunch.

  3. Reina says:

    That is great about getting out and walking. I find locked in a cubicle too that just walking for a few minutes daily really rejuvenates me and gets my energy back. It makes me feel so much better.

    I try and bring my food to work as much as possible because my office is full of lingering terrible food for you!

    • Yes, exactly! I just wish that the weather wasn’t so awful so that I could bring back my outdoor walks. I was surprised by all the healthy choices that are in the vending machines on my floor! Of course, it gets really hard to resist certain things during the afternoon…like chocolate. :)

  4. I ALWAYS bring my own lunches; it’s the only thing that’ll keep me away from the vending machines!

  5. rumiana says:

    Your self pic looks fab :) I prefer to bring food because I don‘t eat sugar, gluten and processed food. But if I know there are good choices in the cafeteria I will take them instead of cooking myself, so it depends.

  6. Living out of tupperware = story of my life. My boss goes out to lunch everyday…um, no thank you. First, poor 23 year old. Second, I would blow up!

  7. Rachel B says:

    I always try to pack my own lunch.. I’m more of a forager than a meal eater so that way I can snack throughout the day. I definitely hear you on not wanting to sit all day.. my summer internship was that way and I always tried to get up and walk or stretch as much as possible.. taking the stairs is always a good way to loosen up and get yourself moving :)

  8. I definitely prefer to bring my lunch, not just because of the health factor but because of the price! I might buy my lunch every few weeks, but not very often!

  9. I am a huge bring your own lunch/snack fanatic! I am even so bad I bring my own snack to coffee dates and just pick up a tea because I don’t want the temptations! Love and Shine CourtStar

  10. Kailey says:

    I am really blessed that my campus was rated number one for dining so I normally just buy a meal if I have to. I don’t feel like carrying around a lunch box & tubberware

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

