Health's Angel

November Foodie Penpals

on November 30, 2012

November marks my first month participating in Lindsay’s Foodie Penpals program, and I don’t think it’ll be my last.

If you don’t know about Foodie Penpals, head on over to The Lean Green Bean and read all about it. It’s great way to connect with other bloggers/blog readers all while giving/receiving delicious foodie items.

 

The Lean Green Bean

 

My package arrived about a week ago from Tamara. Tamara lives in Connecticut and is the founder of The Rawnaissance. Check her out! It sounds like she’s doing some great work.

fpp1

Tamara kindly sent me some honey, maple syrup and popcorn kernels, all locally made/grown. Honey and maple syrup are great things to have on-hand and have already been put to good use.

I was most excited about the popcorn kernels, something I’ve never bought before. I love popcorn as a snack; I used to buy snack-sized microwave popcorn packets when I was in college. I remember a couple of months into my freshman year, I once set off the smoke alarm in my dorm while I was making some. I think I had forgotten about it and left it in the microwave too long. Oops. Thankfully, I’m a more attentive “cook” now.

Anyway, I’ve always wanted to try popping my own. With her package, Tamara included a nice handwritten note with some easy instructions and seasoning suggestions. Tamara said she and her daughter like to use nutritional yeast (something I’ve been meaning to buy/try) and sea salt; lemon, lime or apple cider vinegar (another thing on my to-buy list!) and sea salt; cayenne pepper and lime; or, since she is a raw veganist, some raw chocolate and cinnamon. Such unique ideas!

I haven’t had the opportunity to pop some yet, but I’m hoping to do that this weekend while relaxing and watching a movie. Probably on the Lifetime Movie Network. It’s my favorite way to spend a Friday night sometimes. No shame.

Thanks so much, Tamara!

 

If you’re curious as to what I sent my Foodie Penpal- head on over to Carrie’s blog, Aunt on the Run.

10 responses to “November Foodie Penpals

  1. That is awesome and it looks like a seriously good haul. Glad you enjoyed everything and participated this month! :)

  2. That looks like such a fun package!

    ps – You can find nutritional yeast at Whole Foods and it’s really good on popcorn!!

  3. This looks so cool! I love food :)

  4. Alisha says:

    Ooo! This looks like fun :)

  5. LOVEEEE making my own popcorn and those sound like interesting combinations! May have to try :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

