Health's Angel

Handmade Gifts

on December 10, 2012

Do any of you have someone in your life who is impossible to shop for?

For me, it’s one of my two younger brothers. By the time Christmas rolls around, my mom (or, Santa…) always exclaims: “I have no idea what to get him.”

Well…me either, Santa. He leaves me scratching my head every year. I was about to take the easy way out (read: a $20 Chipotle gift card) until I paid a visit to the Handmade Arcade.

flyer

Gabby, whom I met through blogging back in August, and I headed down to the David L. Lawrence Convention Center on Saturday and spent a couple of hours checking out booth after booth of local hand-made goods.

prints

2070FDD3-AFE7-452E-B2C2-7B7278B975A6

I was impressed by the amount of vendors there and loved the fact that so many of them were local companies. A couple of my favorites included Junxtaposition and Green Bubble Gorgeous. If anyone would like to buy me the toasted coconut vanilla cupcake-shaped bubble bomb from GBG, I would love you forever.

gbg(Via Green Bubble Gorgeous’ Etsy page. How cute is that?)

I stuck to buying gifts for others, so no fun bath products for me. Another thing I was tempted to buy? A hula hoop.

hulagirl

I used to be a hula-hooping pro when I was younger. I spent a lot of time outside practicing rhythmic gymnastics tricks with one, and of course, just swirling one around my hips for what felt like hours. I was good. Such a useful talent to have, right? I should put it on my resume.

I remember back in college, my friends and I were out on the town one night when we came across a girl, who was easily our age or even a bit older, hula-hooping away on the sidewalk. I may or may not have stolen her hula hoop for a few minutes in an attempt to show her up…

72500_495123855785_636680785_7751887_7358258_n (Old picture alert!)

Still one of my fondest memories of senior year. Also, it looks like I’m not wearing shoes. I had black flats on. I promise.

Anyway, this is getting ridiculous. My point is that seeing hula hoops at the Handmade Arcade flooded me with good memories and made me want to get one. Part of me also wanted to go up to the vendor and steal hers away (just like old times!) to see if I still had it in me. But, I refrained.

To be honest, my impossible-to-shop-for brother was the furthest person from my mind when I walked into the fair. But, I happened to leave with a few unique items that I thought he’d like. Much better than a boring old gift card.

Who do you consider “impossible” to shop for in your life?

Have you ever been to a craft fair?

22 responses to “Handmade Gifts

  1. One of my best friends is probably the hardest. She is so unique and always had the best, trendiest items that I feel as though whatever I purchase for her would pale in comparison to the awesome stuff she already has!! Because she is unique and often purchases antiques and rare items, I bet a fair like the one you went to would be the ideal place to find her something.

    They recently opened a marketplace in my area that I’m going to check out. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for some awesome finds!

  2. My dad and boyfriend are the hardest to shop for so I completely understand that. LOL, I laughed at the black tights and black shoes. I actually do that a lot as well too. Black on black on blach…let’s pretend I’m a ninja.

  3. Erin says:

    ahhh, the hula hooping incident haha!! I was there for that and I took that picture!! Woohoo!! That marketplace looks super cool, I love stuff like that! Hope you found all your Christmas gifts!

  4. I love how much the Handmade Arcade has grown over the years! It’s so inspirational to see the amazing things people create.

  5. Great idea. I LOVE to shop local and handmade because I’d rather get something unique and support local, small business as much as possible.

  6. thanks so much for the props…and people can come see us this weekend at boutique 208…. we are having a trunk show there on saturday….items from green bubble gorgeous will be available too … https://www.facebook.com/events/133812220101969/

  7. Ahhh so jealous!! Gabby was awesome :) I honestly have two hula hoops…one that’s weighted and one that’s not…does that make me pathetic? haha

  8. Alisha says:

    I love hula hoops! Definitely resume-worthy ;)

  9. Kris says:

    My dad!! I feel he has a lot of things, but doesn’t have too many hobbies that I can buy things for! I might just have to make something for him this year :)

    xxoo
    Kris | iheartwellness.com

  10. Katie says:

    Hula Hoops are SO fun! I kind of wish I had one laying around!

    My husband is SO hard to shop for! He gives me a list but I like to buy him surprise stuff too! Always hard to do!

  11. Mmmm that upcake sounds like an amazing flavor combo~!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

