Health's Angel

Tis the Season…

on December 21, 2012

For baking marathons

snickerdoodles

(Snickerdoodles from last year.)

My Christmas baking list this year includes:

Giant rainbow M&M cookies. These are always a hit. I plan on being festive and using red and green M&M’s.

Classic peanut butter blossoms, in all of their shortening-filled glory. Am I thrilled about baking with Crisco? Not exactly, but I’m not about to mess with a classic. My brothers would never let me live it down if I tried to “healthify” these.

Deep dark chocolate cookies. I need at least one cookie that is absolutely loaded with chocolate. Obviously.

Oatmeal bars with raspberry preserves. I don’t have a link to this one. The recipe is from an old magazine, but they looked great and I like the idea of a fruit-based dessert to balance everything out.

Plus, I think my mom will be making Russian tea cakes.

It’ll be a busy weekend in the kitchen!

For office kitchens packed with goodies

This week alone, I’ve encountered homemade chocolate chip and white chocolate macadamia cookies, various packaged cookies, buckeyes, crackers, brie cheese (seriously), candy corn M&M’s (?), and toffee, just to name a few things. Sheesh. I’ve only been sampling things that look extra good to me. Like these:

truffle

Little dark chocolate truffles with hazelnut and praline filling. Perfect for the afternoon slump.

For beautiful lights

tree1(Faux-tree from last Christmas.)

 For boots

boots

My new black Sam Edelman ankle boots. These were my first big-ish purchase since starting my new job. I’m obsessed. Now, it just needs to stop raining for one flipping day here so that I can wear them more than once. Suede is a no-no in the rain.

For packed gyms

This is a random one. Are we already working off those holiday cookies/glasses of wine, people? ;)

Maybe it’s because I’ve been frequenting my gym during the evenings after work, but it has just been a zoo lately. The past couple nights, I haven’t even been able to get a treadmill. One of the perks of my old job/grad school schedule was that I had more time in the morning, therefore I could get a workout in before my day began.

This is not the case anymore. I get up between 5:30-6am, depending on how many times I hit “snooze,” and have just enough time to get ready, eat breakfast, and drive to work. Unless I want to get up in the 4am hour, (um, no) workouts need to happen in the evening. At least, until this temp assignment ends or until a new, permanent job comes along. I’m hoping for the latter.

And of course, tis the season to spend quality time with family and friends. I think the recent tragedy in Newtown, CT makes everyone want to hug their loved ones a little tighter this year.

Merry Christmas and happy holidays to all of you!

Finish the title! Tis the season for __________ ?

9 responses to “Tis the Season…

  1. Good for you on staying out of the breakroom! I’m so weak when it comes to homemade treats!

    Also, those boots are gorgeous! But, yeah…tough in Pittsburgh :-/

    • It’s been a struggle for me this week! Luckily, there haven’t been as many homemade treats as the week goes on. Those are definitely my weakness! I just keep thinking about all of the cookies I’ll be making this weekend. I know I have a lot of taste-testing to do. ;)

  2. Working in a health facility, you would think that we wouldn’t have so many treats around…I swear we have more. Great work for avoiding that one. I agree on the gym being more crowded than normal…I couldn’t figure it out if it was because I was at a new gym or just because it was crowded because of holidays.

  3. Yum yum yum I LOVE snickerdoodles!! Just ate one with my lunch :)

  4. Kailey says:

    Christmas cookie marathons > running a marathon any day ;)
    LOVE me some M&M cookies

  5. Mmmm those cookies look so good!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

