Health's Angel

“Taste the Rainbow”

on January 3, 2013

Happy New Year! There’s nothing terribly exciting going on with me, but I wanted to share a few pictures of what I’ve been eating recently. I’ve been making a conscious effort to eat foods with lots of color (like a rainbow…) and I think I’ve been doing a good job thus far. And no, I’m not talking about Skittles here. I prefer M&M’s anyway. :)

minestrone

My favorite soup recipe- Gina’s minestrone, made in my brand new Crockpot! Santa brought me both a Crockpot and a food processor this year. I’ll be geeking out in the kitchen all winter with those two. If you have any great Crockpot recipes, send them my way.

IMG_7242

My go-to salad combination as of late: spinach, chickpeas, red peppers, carrots, green onion, and roasted red pepper hummus. Nothing too crazy, but good nonetheless.

sushi

New Year’s Day sushi. A rainbow roll from a local Chinese/Japanese/Thai joint near my family’s house, Azan Wok. The restaurant itself is small and nondescript, but the sushi is surprisingly pretty good.

3A665F0B-A467-4BF8-932C-1423538B1A80

Berry “detox” smoothie. I whipped this up for breakfast on New Year’s Day. It tasted great, especially after a night full of wine drinking and lots of party snacks.

(Original recipe from Prevention magazine. I noted my changes in italics.)

Serves 2

1 cup frozen unsweetened raspberries (I used 1/2 cup)
3/4 cup chilled unsweetened almond or rice milk (almond for me)
1/4 cup frozen pitted unsweetened cherries or raspberries (I can’t seem to find solo frozen cherries anywhere. I used 1/2 cup of a frozen mixed fruit blend- peaches, strawberries, pineapple, and cherries)
1 1/2 Tbsp honey (I used 1/2 tbsp)
2 tsp finely grated fresh ginger (I used a little less than 1 tsp of ground ginger)
1 tsp ground flaxseed (I used a spoonful of chia seeds)
1-2 tsp fresh lemon juice

COMBINE all ingredients in blender, adding lemon juice to taste.

PUREE until smooth.

POUR into 2 chilled glasses.

I’ve noticed a lot of people around me have been sick lately. Everyone at work seems to be sneezing and hacking. One of my brothers came home for his winter break and brought a cold with him. One of my friends got hit with a nasty stomach bug during our New Year’s Eve party. It was strange- she went from feeling fine to feeling terrible in a matter of minutes, and spent the night sleeping in one of the bedrooms. No fun for her.

Needless to say, I’ve been trying to get as many vitamins into my body as possible (in addition to compulsively washing my hands…). What better way to do that than with colorful foods, right?

How do you try to ward off illness?

How was your New Year’s?

30 responses to ““Taste the Rainbow”

  1. I am the same way. My life has been a big pile of boring outside of races LOL. Glad to know I’m not the only one, but I’m not even making it up with for having good food. My food has been pretty lame and nothing compared to that!

    • I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one, too! Sometimes I feel like my life isn’t exciting enough for a blog, haha. I was in a hardcore food rut before the holidays. My new kitchen gadgets are making me want to experiment!

  2. Healthy Diva says:

    Happy New Year!

    The sushi looks so good, I miss raw fish!

    Hope your week is going good!

  3. Hey I am the same way, don’t have that much exciting stuff outside of work work work. I haven’t had sushi in ages!

  4. A lot of people around me are getting sick too :( Gotta keep that immune system up and colourful food is a great way as you make sure to get a wide variety of nutrients :)

  5. Happy New Year!! The rainbow has never looked as tasty as it does on your blog haha :) If you find any crockpot recipes please send my way as I recently got one too!

  6. Alisha says:

    The sushi looks to die for! Congrats on the slow cooker and food processor! They are both life changing kitchen appliances!

  7. Kailey says:

    Yup, my life is pretty much wake up, run, eat, watch Friday Night LIghts/Gossip Girl while doing Sodokus haha. Not complaining – I so needed a break from ALL school work.

  8. that smoothie looks so good! i’ve only recently started taking advantage of my blender (not too sure why? i’ve had it forever lol).. i made a blueberry spinach smoothie yesterday (it tastes a lot better than it sounds!) so maybe i’ll try this one today :)

  9. That sushi is so pretty! I’ll have to check that place out.

    Also, I’m so glad to hear that you got a crockpot and a food processor! Definitely two of my favorite things! (Like, ever :P)

  10. MMMMMM I just unpacked and set up my Ninja blender– I think a smoothie would be the perfect way to christen it in the new apartment :)

  11. SoFitSoGreen says:

    Santa brought me a crockpot this year too! And I used it on Tuesday to make a recipe almost identical to your soup. SO perfect for this time of year. I am getting excited about the possibilities if offers for creating quick and easy dinners and lunches during the week.
    I love your blog! I’m also a health nut over at SoFitandSoGreen.blogspot.com . I am obsessed with my food processor and have some great raw recipes that call for it if you want to check them out!

  12. Brittany says:

    That smoothie looks great!! I def got the bug this year, and fortunately beat it quickly!!

  13. So…now I need sushi and a smoothie stat. LOOKS GREAT

  14. Kyra (Scribbles & Sprinkles) says:

    THAT SUSHI. LOOKS. AMAZING. And I loveeeee berry smoothies!

  15. Everything looks so fresh and healthy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

