Health's Angel

[Current] Diet Staples

on January 18, 2013

I don’t know how many of you feel this way, but given the popularity of WIAW, I can assume I’m not alone. I love reading about other people’s meals. Maybe it’s because I love to experiment with different foods. Maybe it’s because I’m just nosy. Who knows. I thought I’d talk a little bit about my current diet staples. These are a few things that I’m currently eating almost every day without fail.

Chia Seed

chia

Thanks to the blog world, I tried chia seeds for the first time about a year ago and I’ve been hooked ever since. I love that they’re rich in Omega-3s. A bowl of oatmeal or a smoothie just doesn’t seem right without them. I love the thickness that chia seeds add to foods. They save my oatmeal from becoming a soupy mess on a regular basis. Sometimes I get a little heavy-handed with the milk…

Coconut Oil

coconutoil

As I’ve mentioned before, I love anything coconut-flavored. I use it sparingly- about a teaspoon or so a day. Lately, I’ve been stirring some into my morning bowl of oatmeal. It’s also great spread on cinnamon raisin toast.

Larabars/Rise bars

bars

I rarely go a day without eating some kind of raw food or snack bar. I’m fairly particular about the kinds that I eat. I used to eat Luna bars all the time in college but have since gotten away from them because of one ingredient: soy. I’ve drastically cut back on the amount of processed soy that I eat over the past few months due to some things I’ve read, health concerns, etc.

I’ve noticed that people don’t like Larabars and Rise bars for various reasons: too high in sugar, not enough protein, too many calories, etc. The reason that I love these bars as much as I do (besides the fact that they taste oh my gosh so good) is that they’re made with minimal ingredients that are recognizable. My absolute favorite Larabar, cashew cookie, has just two ingredients: cashews and dates. And yes, some are caloric, but I don’t calorie count so this is not an issue for me. I need to try making a version of these on my own, since I got a food processor for Christmas!

Spinach

Easily my favorite vegetable. I try to eat spinach once a day, and its versatility makes it easy to do so. I love using it as a base for salads, throwing it into a stir fry dish, and of course, in stereotypical HLB fashion…adding it to smoothies.

Chickpeas

Chickpeas have become a main source of protein for me. I don’t regularly eat meat products anymore (I’m talking chicken, beef, etc.) and so that leaves me with seafood or vegetarian options. My favorite source of protein is and will always be salmon. If I could eat salmon every day, I probably would. But…I’d be broke. Chickpeas are easy to find in any store, plus you can’t beat the price. I love them both raw and roasted in the oven. I should add that another diet staple of mine is chickpea-based, good old hummus. My favorite, by far, is the red pepper hummus from a local company/restaurant, the Greek Gourmet. I make special trips to my Whole Foods for it!

IMG_7242(A few of my staples all together!)

Just like anything else in life, my diet never says the same. I get in food ruts, I get sick of certain things and vow to never eat them again, I discover new food obsessions, etc. But these are just a few things that have stuck as of late.

What are some things that you eat/drink daily, without fail?

*Note: I am not a nutritionist. This post is not intended to serve as nutrition advice. I am simply stating some foods I like to eat, and why. That’s it. :)

33 responses to “[Current] Diet Staples

  1. If you can believe it, I’ve never actually tried coconut oil! I guess never wanting to shell out the $ has been my biggest reason, but you’re convincing me that it would be worth it :) I totally agree with you on cutting back on soy products- which is why I switched from soy milk to almond milk a year and a half ago. Every now and then I still like to enjoy a Luna bar, though! And spinach is in my daily rotation as well, can’t live without it!

  2. I barely eat any of these but I do like them all. I haven’t jumped on the coconut oil or butter thing yet but maybe one day

  3. Brittany says:

    Yeah so we’re basically the same person. HA. I have chia seeds almost daily on my PB&J sammich, I use coconut oil for literally everything I cook,bake,fry. I eat spinach like I am Popeye, and Larabars are the BEST!

  4. I’ve never had chia seeds before but I see them everywhere! I might have to try them. I do love coconut oil though. So good.

  5. sofitsogreen says:

    I love larabars but was so sad to see that they are owned by general mills who voted against prop. 37 :(
    http://rule7mediallc.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/prop37-poster3.jpg

    I don’t know what to think! this infographic is so shocking.

  6. I want to find Rise bars! They sound so great!

  7. Mmm I love spinach! I’ve been adding it to my eggs in the morning and it’s so yummy. Unfortunately coffee is something I drink without fail almost everyday but I’ve also incorporated a lot of green tea into my diet. Iced green tea is so refreshing! Bananas are a good morning pick me up. I like trying a lot of different foods so I can’t say I really have a staple. I do love the bulk nut/fruit mixes from Whole Foods and sushi a lot!

  8. You may find this DISGUSTING but I too am obsessed with spinach… and I especially LOVE IT with KETCHUP! (sugar free of course).

    Oh and holy moly, I eat the SAME FOODS probably every day = Spaghetti Squash is A HUGE staple! I feel so weird if I don’t get to eat it one day, lol!! Salmon, I AM OBSESSED – that too is ALWAYS in my diet, every day!!

  9. Ahhhh yes, you’re my Rise bar soulmate ;)

    And chia seeds are the bomb. I include them in almost every meal!

  10. Prayers and Apples says:

    I don’t know what happened, but over the past couple weeks I’ve become a spinach addict! And I’m the same way you are with flaxseed (ground meal) as you are with chai seeds :)

  11. I use ground flaxsed a lot. What is the difference between chia seeds and flax seeds? Happy Friday!

  12. Dani says:

    Amen on the chia seeds and coconut oil. I love my spinach and flaxseeds also, they are a staple in my smoothies!

  13. healthydivaeats says:

    ANGELA! You won my special K Giveaway! I had 2 previous winners that NEVER responded and I picked a third one and it was you! Please email your mailing info so I can send it off to Special K! Congrats! <3

  14. I have a serious addiction with chickpeas, lately. Check out my blog for some chickpea recipes that I have posted recently. I hope you like them! :)

  15. I love larabars too! I have to say, I used to be one of the people that shied away from them for a few reasons, not enough protein and high in calories. Now, I think that the calorie count is justifiable for what they are and I’ll get my protein elsewhere! I just started buying Kit’s Organic bars (made by Clifbar) and they are even BETTER than Larabars with the same minimal ingredients, dates, nuts, etc.
    BTW – i have experimented with my food processor and have been on a fruit/nut “ball” kick. I’ll be posting a recipe soon so watch for it! :)

  16. Love love love everything in this post! :) Especially chia seeds. Love your blog, too!

  17. ashley says:

    I just bought chia seeds for the first time and have been putting them in oatmeal or in smoothies. I’m also LOVING chickpeas lately :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

