Health's Angel

Changes, Changes

on February 9, 2013

Hello blogging buddies!

I haven’t forgot about you all, I promise! I wanted to drop in to let you all know why I’ve been MIA lately.

DSC07840

I wish I could say “because I’ve been on vacation soaking up the sun!” …Sadly, no. I just wish I were there. (Naples, Florida)

For those who’ve been reading for awhile, you may remember me mentioning that I was working under contract at a large corporation. I took the gig solely for the money. I needed something to pay the bills while I continued to pursue my career goals. The company was nice, but I knew the job wouldn’t last forever. Plus, I was starting to get extremely restless there. Ultimately, I was not doing the kind of work that I envisioned myself doing post-grad. I knew I had to keep pushing for something else.

I’ve spent the last couple months networking like crazy and using every connection and resource available. Well, I am proof that patience and persistence pays off…because I got my “goal” job! I’ve been trying to get in with this company since the summer, and something finally broke for me there…months and months later. I could not be more thrilled. I am not kidding when I say that it is a dream come true. Sounds corny, but the position that I got was exactly what I wanted to do with my degree after college so it feels surreal that I actually got it.

This past week was my first week. So far, so good! Of course, with any new job comes an adjustment period and a learning curve to adapt to. I’d be lying if I said that I wasn’t overwhelmed. It’s drastically different from what I’ve done in the past, but I believe that my educational background and some internship experience that I’ve had has given me a good foundation. First jobs teach you a lot, and I know that the environment that I’m in (it’s a very small company) will allow me to get a taste of everything in the business. I’ve already learned so much, just in the first week!

To sum it up…I’ve been so wrapped up in all of this, plus a shift in my entire routine, that the old Internet has taken a backseat. Once I’m settled, I’m sure the blog world will become a time suck once again. :) I do miss it!

I hope this little blurb gives any frustrated job seekers out there some hope. Seriously, y’all. I felt like I was going nowhere and that nothing was going to break for me in my city. I started to think about moving (I still want to eventually *I neeeed the coast*…just not right away). I felt completely down on my luck. Take it from me and don’t give up. Keep pushing. Network like crazy. Use who you know. Something will break!

That’s all for now. I’m off to relax and enjoy my Saturday. I’ll be back with your regularly scheduled programming soon. :)

29 responses to “Changes, Changes

  1. yayyyyy! congrats x 1000! You totally deserve your dream job with all of the waiting and hard work you put in over the past long months!! :) :)

  2. Yay!! Congratulations :) That is so wonderful. Can’t wait to hear more about it.

  3. GAHHHH I can’t wait to hear all about it and I had no doubt you would find this. congrats lady congrats!!!!

  4. I was actually just wondering how you were doing last night. I’m glad to see extremely well. I’m still on the quest for a big career type job so this is really inspiring.

  5. Definitely a frustrated seeker right here! So glad you found something you love though! That gives me hope ;)

  6. Aw. I felt the same way when I finally got a job. It’s the best feeling in the world! Congrats! Before I got my job I felt like I’d wasted my college years earning a pointless degree, but eventually I got exactly what I wanted and haven’t looked back! :)
    I always tell people who are recent grads to never give up! I feel so sad when I think about other people going through that and feeling that hopelessness.

    • It was brutal. I was beginning to think the same about my degree: pointless. I actually went to grad school initially to study something I wasn’t enamored with just to avoid the “real world” and because the job market was so tough with my kind of degree. I’m glad I got out of that though and eventually things worked themselves out.

  7. CONGRATS!!!!!! We’re so proud of you for keeping your eye on the prize and being super persistant and focused. Also, mega props for understanding that, while a paycheck is nice, it isn’t everything and that the first job wasn’t meant to be.

    Congrats again! I know you’re going to do an awesome job :D

  8. Michelle says:

    Congrats! I am so excited for you…I couldn’t have started reading and blogging again at a better time! So happy I saw this!

  9. CONGRATS on the new job and it being your dream job! So happy for you girl!!!!! <3

  10. Congratulations on landing the gig!! Getting your dream job is quite an accomplishment! I wish you the best in the adjustment phase and look forward to having you back in the blogosphere (when you’re ready!)

  11. Congrats on the new job!! Love hearing stories of people following their dreams!

  12. Brittany says:

    This is so amazing!! Congratulations and way to not give up!!

  13. Congrats!! And aren’t scallops amazing? I just tried them a month ago and am obsessed haha

  14. Oops that was for your Beachburgh post! I’m tired ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

