Health's Angel

Who’s This Chick?

on June 8, 2013

Hi! Remember me?

sz

No? It’s okay. I don’t blame you.

I think we can all deduce by now that I am going to be a once-in-awhile, whenever I feel like it, kind of blogger.

Trust me, I still read blogs. I may not always comment, but I do read. Now, with the help of Bloglovin. Which I’m not really a fan of. Does anyone else have problems with their feed updating?

For those of you who care (haha), here are a few updates about my “healthy living” life.

Fitness

I’m going to honest with y’all. I fell off the workout wagon for a couple of months. I have a laundry list of excuses for this one…but I think that overall, I was just bored. I was only making it to the gym once a week (if that) and my workouts were lackluster.

What motivated me to get going again?

marathonbanner-001The 2013 Dick’s Sporting Goods Pittsburgh Marathon.

No, I did not run. But I worked all weekend. The Marathon has an incredible staff and the company that I work for was fortunate enough to help them with the event. I took the above picture at…I don’t know, 4:30 a.m.?

I could go on forever about Marathon weekend. If I were a better blogger, I would’ve dedicated an entire post to the Marathon alone. To make a long story short, it was a crazy-fun experience that I’ll never forget. I got to give one of my best friends a big hug as she crossed the finish line. This was her second year running the full marathon, and I was so proud of her!

finishline

Just being a spectator (posted up at the finish line, nonetheless) lit a fire under my butt and since then, I’ve been getting into a better groove with my workouts. I’m no marathoner, but lately I’ve been enjoying jogging/walking outside (weather permitting) and spinning classes at my gym.

I also treated myself to a five class pass at my favorite hot yoga studio, for variety. Plus…I’m really feelin’ vinyasa these days. Sweating buckets never felt so good.

Food

dinner1Shrimp, peppers, spinach, peanuts and quinoa in teriyaki sauce. Eaten with the company of my computer and an oversized t-shirt. #singlegirlproblems

Well…I can call myself an official pescatarian.

I stopped eating meat (except fish) about five/six months ago and haven’t looked back.

Maybe I’ll write a post behind my reasoning for this but overall, I just feel better without it. I was never a big meat-eater to begin with, and it started to gradually fade out of my diet over the past year without me even trying.

One of our interns at work mentioned that she doesn’t eat meat either. My co-worker chimed in and said that she tried going vegetarian for a month, but couldn’t do it. She said she craved burgers and whatnot. The intern and I agreed that if you have to force yourself away from meat, then you probably shouldn’t be a vegetarian.

I don’t crave meat. I prefer a plant-based diet, but it’s not for everyone.

This post is getting lengthy so I’ll end it here. More life updates to come. Hopefully…

cakes

P.S.- My job involves lots of pretty cakes. No wonder my pants are tight.

21 responses to “Who’s This Chick?

  1. I always enjoy to see your blog pop up into my reader (however frequent/infrequent you choose). I’m glad you have motivated by the Pitts marathon. Funny I nearly ran the half last month but decided I didn’t want to travel after coming back from DC. I’d def be interested to hear about your sans meat and how it affected you. I honestly find you to be one of most level headed blogs/people and I think I’d be most interested in it from you. Have a great weekend!

    • :) Thanks, Hollie! This comment made me smile. I’ll definitely have to type up a post about it.
      It’s too bad you didn’t run the half; I would’ve loved to see you…maybe break some tape, too. :)

  2. mvwinter27 says:

    Welcome back! That’s awesome about your yoga purchase- let me know how it is! I just purchased 5 classes at a local studio too and I’m nervous!

    • I LOVE vinyasa. I tried it for the first time back in the fall. I thought that I’d hate getting so overheated and sweaty but it’s actually very cleansing. Not to mention, great for your mental state. I hope you love it!

  3. Brittany says:

    I love your idea behind if you have to force being a vegetarian than you shouldn’t do it. I feel that can be applied to anything in life and it’s so true! YAHOO for that marathon getting you back on track, I would love to volunteer at a marathon.

  4. If it makes you feel better I am envious of the fact that you can infrequently blog! I can’t get the motivation lately! Always love to see your posts because I miss your life :)

  5. I remember you! :)

    I’m glad to see that you have been slowly working your way out of slumps. It can be so hard sometimes! I think that surrounding yourself with inspirational people (like your marathoner friend) can be really helpful.

    Glad to see you’re doing well, Angela :)

  6. Give me those CAKES. That is all :)

  7. I’d definitely like to hear about your pescatarian lifestyle- one that really appeals to me. Sometimes a little time off from a lot of exercise is just what your body needs!

  8. Yayy so glad to see this pop up in my reader! That quinoa looks amazing, and I love your hashtag haha- it pretty much decribes my life ;) ;) I’m transitioning to pescatarian too! I don’t crave meat, but can eat fish all day every day!

  9. I don;t know if you remember me (blogitness) blogging with a brand new start now! But anyways the Pgh marathon was so motivating!

  10. Ah! That stir-fry looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

