Health's Angel

Coconut Craze

on September 7, 2013

I just wanted to drop in on this Saturday morning to praise my latest obsession.

zico1Coconut water!

It’s no secret that my flavor scent/flavor is coconut. I’ve mentioned this no less than 100 times. So, it shouldn’t come as a surprise that I’m loving this stuff lately.

My favorites include Vita Coco’s plain coconut water and Zico’s plain and chocolate (!) waters.

So, what’s all the fuss about coconut water? From Zico’s website:

  • Packed with potassium: As much potassium as a banana
  • 5 electrolytes: Sodium, magnesium, calcium, potassium, phosphorous
  • The ultimate hydration drink: Supports hydration
  • Natural: Coconut water has been used as an intravenous fluid and, in this way, saved lives during World War II in the South Pacific.

I remember reading somewhere about how coconut water was used as an IV drip during WWII in some extreme cases. Interesting!

Of course, I’m always wary of marketing ploys and hype when it comes to food/drink products. Personally, I don’t believe it’s a replacement for good old H20 (still my number one drink choice) but if you’re looking for something fun to drink, and you’re a coconut fanatic like me, this is a nice change-up. Besides, it was recently on sale at my local grocery store so…why not?

I’ve been enjoying a small cup of the chocolate coconut water before/after my workouts as of late. It’s like chocolate milk, but more delicious.

As I do with every product that I buy, I read the ingredients on the bottle and noticed one funky-sounding one: carrageenan. Apparently this is used as a thickener.

After reading what Dr. Andrew Weil had to say about carrageenan, I don’t think it’s something that I’d want to regularly consume. With that said, I consider Zico’s chocolate coconut water to be more of one-and-awhile treat rather than a diet staple, so I’m not too worried.

 

What are your thoughts on coconut water?

Favorite type of drink? I’m all about plain water. I also have a cup of green tea every morning.

22 responses to “Coconut Craze

  1. Nice to see a blog post from you. I never knew that about it being used in WWII how interesting!

  2. Oh wow…so neat about WWII!

  3. Brittany says:

    This chocolate flavor is HANDS down THEEEE best one. SOO GOOD!

  4. The chocolate flavor is SO good!! Whoa cool fact about the WW2 coconut water!

  5. Darn that carrageenan! It sneaks into everything these days–but I agree with you, I think it’s fine as an occasional treat. I’ve only ever had plain coconut water, but considering how much I LOVE chocolate, I bet I be obsessed with that kind!

  6. I keep seeing that chocolate coconut water everywhere and everyone keeps saying it tastes just like chocolate milk. It sounds really good! I like to drink coconut water before a long workout to help keep me hydrated but some of them taste a little funky. I’ve never seen carrageenan in any of the ones I’ve tried; it must be specific to that kind. I can’t believe it is just seaweed and it has been linked to so many harmful diseases! That’s good to know, thanks for sharing!

  7. Looove coconut water! Living in Mumbai has made me a coconut water snob though- nothing tastes as good as drinking it straight out the coconut ;)!

  8. Coconut water is delicious! Love all the health benefits too!

  9. I’ll be honest I have always been weary of coconut water. I just can’t imagine the taste would be something I am interested in. I do love me some green tea though! :)

  10. I love coconut water! It’s super common here :)

    A lot of my favorite almond milks uses carageenen, too and, yeah, it’s pretty icky :-/

  11. I struggle to drink coconut water. I don’t know what it is, but I can’t do it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

