Health's Angel

Silence the Mind

on September 26, 2013

When the weather turns cool, I crave hot yoga. When my mind is racing 1,000 miles a minute, I crave hot yoga.

Both of those were true early yesterday morning. So guess where I ended up?

yogaflow

I originally planned to hit the gym and run on the treadmill. I’m happy to say that my running is improving and I don’t dread it as much as I used to. But, I’m not at the point with running where I can “zone out.” If I want to zone out and calm my mind, yoga is where it’s at.

Apparently luck was on my side. My favorite instructor at this particular studio just so happened to be teaching the class. The last time I took class with her, she was pregnant and rocking it. She’s soothing but also intense. Yesterday’s class focused on core work. I’m definitely feeling it today! Whoever thinks yoga isn’t a tough workout is sorely mistaken.

I love the relaxation portion of the class just as much as exercise portion. Yesterday, the instructor shut the curtains, kept the music going (she always has an awesome playlist) and we laid there with our eyes closed as she read passages/mantras. When I left class, I truly felt that I did something wonderful for myself/my mind. It’s amazing how calm I felt. I have a couple important things coming up at the end of this week and so I needed some peace of mind before they happen.

quoteyoga(Love this quote)

Now only if I could attend more often. I just can’t justify paying for a yoga studio AND a gym membership. I buy individual classes or five-class passes whenever the mood hits me or I have a little extra cash.

Here are a few other things that I do to relax and help calm my mind:

  • Baking and cooking
  • Taking a walk outside if it’s sunny out (Yes. It must be sunny. Vitamin D!)
  • Laying in the sun
  • Getting lost in a good book (I need new book suggestions…anyone?)
  • Petting my dog
  • Buying flowers for my apartment

flowers

(My favorite color)

What do you do to calm your mind?

24 responses to “Silence the Mind

  1. I honestly can’t even fathom cold weather right now (it’s a nice 90 degrees here in Texas). Glad you are able to relax, as for me I like to paint to calm my mind. Exercise can do it but not as much as painting.

  2. Exercise is totally a stress relief. As is getting lost in a good show or book!

  3. Reading is a TOTAL relaxer for me! Have you read the girl with the dragon tattoo series? I just read them last year and must say that they are AMAZING!

  4. Brittany says:

    I totally choose yoga if I need to zone out!! It’s amazing for me in that sense. I love my running, but have never really been able to zone out like some other runners!! NOW I NEED YOGA!

  5. I love this post! I’m always trying to calm my mind and thoughts. Good tips you’ve shared, especially getting lost in a book. It’s been too long since that has happened to me!

  6. I miss hot yoga! I have done it in years but it feels so good for the mind and body. Watching a good movie, going out to eat, or relaxing with a good book are ways I like to calm my mind.

  7. Swimming is a total relaxer for me- I seem to completely zone out and focus on the present..definitely the most therapeutic form of exercise!

  8. Scott says:

    Meditation every day is what I do to relax… it’s the first thing I do when I get up in the morning. I’ve been practising meditation for about 10 years now and wouldn’t be without it.

  9. I love hot yoga, although its been awhile!

  10. I love this post! I think it’s so important to focus on what allows you to de-stress. Writing it down in a list is a really good reminder.

    Exercising in any form always helps me a lot. The trouble is that stressful times are often the busiest and I’m more likely to make excuses :P

  11. I have always loved your posts. You may want to check mine out. Thanks for bringing sunshine to he HLB, Angela! http://www.frecklednettles.com/2/post/2013/10/feel-good-friday1.html

  12. Hot yoga?! Girl that is so intense! My mind relaxer is baking or shopping (which is a horrible one for my bank) hahaa.

  13. a few weeks back, i started to think about re-adding yoga into my fitness routine and now that my knee is bummed out, i have to. so i did a session yesterday and forgot how much i LOVE IT!

    i can’t do the hot yoga though; it makes me dizzy so i do the regular power yoga at home.

  14. Writing always calms my mind. I have had a journal since I was about 10 years old. Sometimes I just write and don’t think and everything flows on the paper.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

